Thank you for your interest in reviewing for us. Our guidelines and list of titles we're looking for are listed below.

We are looking for writers who hope to critically question, investigate, and consider new angles of literary analysis. If this sounds like you, please email thehaloscopereview@gmail.com with the following materials:

  • A cover letter

  • A resume/CV (in lieu of a resume, please provide at least 3-4 writing samples)

  • Three ranked choices from the following list of new, recent, or forthcoming releases.

We consider reviews of both new works and marginally older releases, as long as the latter is written with either its age and longevity in mind- i.e., if you're reviewing Donna Tartt's The Secret History, we'd like to see it at least partially written in the lens of how it's changed in the cultural consciousness since its release- or with a different spin, such as a gender analysis of J.D. Salinger's Franny and Zooey. 

If you'd like us to consider a title or titles for review, please email thehaloscopereview@gmail.com to submit a suggestion. If you are the writer of the title in question, please email the aforementioned address to request our mailing address, to which you may send a print copy of a recent release. 

We only take pitched reviews. Please do not send us pre-written reviews made on the journal's behalf. Thanks!

Bolded titles refer to things we’re really, really seeking.

POETRY / CHAPBOOKS / MICRO-CHAPBOOKS

Yves Olade, Bloodsport (self-published, 2017)

Jack Royer, dayglo (Ghost City Press, June 2019)

Ava Wolf, Year of the Pig (Ghost City Press, June 2019)

Kate Belt, Easy Exit to Eleventh Street (Ghost City Press, May 2019)

Aidan Forster, Exit Pastoral (YesYes Books, April 2019)

Emily Vizzo, Giantess (YesYes Books, November 2018)

Emily O’Neill, A Falling Knife Has No Handle (YesYesBooks, September 2018)

Rosie Accola, Referential Body (Ghost City Press, March 2019)

Zaina Alsous, A Theory of Birds (University of Arkansas Press, September 2019)

Staceyann Chin, Cross/Fire (Haymarket Books, October 2019)

Alan Chazaro, This is Not a Frank Ocean Cover Album (Black Lawrence Press, September 2019)

Kyce Bello, Refugia (University of Nevada Press, September 2019)

Toi Derricotte, “I”: New and Selected Poems (University of Pittsburgh Press, March 2019)

Patrick Donnelly, Little-Known Operas (Four Way Books, February 2019)

Matty Layne Glasgow, deciduous qween (Red Hen Press, June 2019)

Rodney Gomez, Ceremony of Sand (YesYes Books, April 2019)

B. J. Soloy, Our Pornography and Other Disaster Songs (Slope Editions, March 2019)

Phuong T. Vuong, The House I Inherit (Finishing Line Press, January 2019)

FICTION / NOVELS / NOVELLAS / NON-FICTION

Ocean Vuong, On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous (Penguin Press, June 2019)

Sally Rooney, Normal People (Hogarth, April 2019)

Lisa Taddeo, Three Women (Avid Reader Press, July 2019)

Chris Campanioni, the Internet is for real (C&R Press, May 2019)

Candice Carty-Williams, Queenie (Simon and Schuster, March 2019)

Tressie McMillan Cottom, THICK and Other Essays (The New Press, January 2019)

Dorothea Lasky, Animal (Wave Books, September 2019)

Courtney Craggett, Tornado Season (Black Lawrence Press, January 2019)

Courtney Maum, Costalegre (Tin House Books, July 2019)

Darcie Wilder, literally show me a healthy person (Tyrant Books, September 2017)

Melissa Broder, The Pisces (Hogarth, May 2018)

Jia Tolentino, Trick Mirror (Random House, August 2019)

Alexander Chee, How to Write an Autobiographical Novel: Essays (Mariner Books, April 2018)

Jenny Zhang, Sour Heart: Stories (Lenny, May 2018)

Carmen Maria Machado, Her Body and Other Parties: Stories (Graywolf Press, October 2017)

Mesha Maren, Sugar Run (Algonquin Books, January 2019)

Ottessa Moshfegh, My Year of Rest and Relaxation (Penguin Books, July 2018)

Jenny Slate, Little Weirds (Little, Brown and Company, November 2019)

Ling Ma, Severance (FSG Originals, August 2018)

Kristen Roupenian, You Know You Want This: “Cat Person” and Other Stories (G/S Press, January 2019)

Durga Chew-Bose, Too Much and Not the Mood: Essays (FSG Originals, April 2017)